Druid Sage Abilities

From The Authentic D&D Wiki
Revision as of 20:34, 20 August 2020 by Tao alexis (talk | contribs)
Jump to navigationJump to search
Druid Sage Abilities.jpg

Below can be found a list of the knowledge fields and studies available to the Druid Class. Starting at 1st level, the druid gains one field, and one study within that field. This choice is left entirely to the player. There are four fields to choose from:

Animal Life: provides familiarity with living, breathing creatures of natural, non-magical origin, their lifestyles and instincts, and the ecologies in which they dwell. The field is divided into different animal forms.
Earth & Sky: the study of the physical world collectively, including landscape, features and products of the earth, reaching to all natural forms of the material universe. The field is divided among the natural sciences.
Plant Life: provides familiarity with growing plants, fungus and like growing creatures of natural, non-magical origin, their distribution, cultivation and manner of fertility. The field is divided into different plant forms.

The studies within these fields are each described more thoroughly on their own pages — and in turn are a number of sage abilities that await possession by player characters and others. Following are a list of studies sorted by their field.

Animal Life

Amphibians & Reptiles:
Bugs & Spiders:
Sea Life:
Slime Molds:

Earth & Sky

Animal Physiology:
Natural Astronomy:

Plant Life

Bushes & Shrubs:
Flowers & Sprigs:
Grasses & Grains:
Mosses & Ferns:

Awarding Knowledge Points

At 1st level, the druid player character will gain 12 knowledge points in their chosen study. A d6-1 is rolled for the other studies in the druid's chosen field, producing a result of 0 to 5 each. A d4-1 is rolled for all other studies in all other fields, producing a result of 0 to 3 each. Therefore, the druid will accumulate sufficient points in every study to most likely become an amateur in all or most studies. Be sure to read the sage abilities page for additional details.

This accumulation is assumed to occur steadily, through everyday discussions with NPCs in settled places, chance reading of books, experiment and insight, whether or not the character ever expresses their intention to gather this knowledge. Time in the campaign is often skirted over ... so we may assume the character spoke to someone in their profession along a road, at a tavern, perhaps finding a shelf of books (and poking through them) during an afternoon's shopping or whenever.

Once the character has gained sufficient levels, the number of both fields and studies are increased. Furthermore, as levels are gained, so are knowledge points, enabling characters to progress from amateur to authority, and thence to expert and sage. At 5th, 9th and 13th levels, the druid will gain a new study in a field that the druid possesses. At 7th and 13th levels, the druid will gain a new field.